from the album: Mono – Holy Ground: NYC Live With The Wordless Music Orchestra (2010)

MONO is a japanese post-rock band, formed in 1999 in Tokyo.  Pure As Snow was originally recorded on the 2009 concept album by Mono, Hymn To The Immortal Wind.  The album was recorded and mixed in June and November 2008 at the Electrical Audio Recording Studios, ChicagoIllinois, by Steve Albini. A music video for “Follow the Map” was released to promote the album. There is a short story enclosed with the CD to go along with the music.


  • Takaakira “Taka” Goto – electric guitars
  • Tamaki Kunishi – bass guitar, piano, harpsichord, glockenspiel
  • Yasunori Takada – drums, tympani, cymbals, glockenspiel
  • Yoda – electric guitars, Hammond B3 organ
  • Steve Albini – recording, engineering, mixing
  • John Golden – mastering

  • Mark Anderson, cello
  • Mellisa Bach, cello
  • Eille Bakkum, viola
  • Inger Petersen Carle, violin
  • Alison Chesley, cello
  • Dave Max Crawford, conductor
  • Jennifer Clippert, flute
  • Wendy Cotton, cello
  • Margaret Daly, cello
  • Michael Duggan, cello
  • Katherine Hughes, cello
  • Jill Kaeding, cello
  • Carol Kalvonjian, violin
  • Carmen Llop Kassinger, violin
  • Kent Kessler, contrabass
  • Andra Kulans, violin, viola
  • Jody Livo, violin
  • Ellen O’Hayer, cello
  • Vannia Phillips, viola
  • John Sagos, viola
  • Mary Stolper, flute
  • Ben Wedge, viola
  • Steve Winkler, violin
  • Susan Voelz, violin
  • Paul Von Mertens, conductor
  • Jeff Yang, violin
  • Richard Yeo, cello
  • Chie Yoshinaka, violin


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s